Canon EOS 5D Mark III Instruction Manual (en)

Autofocusing with 61 points is possible. All of the AF area selection 
modes are selectable.
: Dual cross-type AF point. Subject 
tracking is superior and the focusing 
precision is higher than with other AF 
: Cross-type AF point. Subject 
tracking is superior and high-
precision focusing is achieved.
: AF points sensitive to horizontal 
Lenses and Usable AF Points
Group A
Although the camera has 61 AF points, the number of usable AF 
points and focusing patterns will differ depending on the lens. The 
lenses are thereby classified into nine groups from A to I. Check 
which group your lens belongs to.
When using a lens in Groups F to H, fewer AF points will be usable.
When you press the <S> button, the AF points indicated by the   mark 
will blink. (The  / /  AF points will stay lit.)
When using a lens marked with “*”, see page 86.
Regarding new lenses marketed after the EOS 5D Mark III, check 
Canon’s Web site to see which group they belong to.
Some lenses may not be available in certain countries or regions.
EF24mm f/1.4L USM
EF50mm f/1.8
EF200mm f/1.8L USM
EF24mm f/1.4L II USM
EF50mm f/1.8 II
EF200mm f/1.8L USM 
+ Extender EF1.4x*
EF28mm f/1.8 USM
EF85mm f/1.2L USM
EF200mm f/2L IS USM
EF35mm f/1.4L USM
EF85mm f/1.2L II USM
EF200mm f/2L IS USM 
+ Extender EF1.4x
EF35mm f/2
EF85mm f/1.8 USM
EF200mm f/2.8L USM
EF35mm f/2 IS USM
EF100mm f/2 USM
EF200mm f/2.8L II USM
EF50mm f/1.0L USM
EF135mm f/2L USM
EF300mm f/2.8L USM
EF50mm f/1.2L USM
EF135mm f/2L USM 
+ Extender EF1.4x
EF300mm f/2.8L IS USM
EF50mm f/1.4 USM
EF135mm f/2.8 (Softfocus)
EF300mm f/2.8L IS II USM